The Result of the 2016 Competition

The Result of the 2016 Competition

The winners of the third, 2016, Jonathan Brock Memorial Essay Prize Competition, as announced at our AGM on 5th December 2016, are

Max Evans, practising at Fountain Court
Matthew Finn, practising at Keating Chambers
To Max went a cheque for £2,000, and to Matthew one for £1,000, both jointly funded by LCLCBA and Lindsey Brock. Congratulations to both winners!

The subject for 2016 was “Are there any circumstances (and if so what are they) in which the Court may refuse to give effect to contractual provisions on the ground of repugnancy? Should the Court have such a power?” and you can read the winning entries here:

Max Evans



Matthew Finn